Civil Service Commission

The Bexar County Civil Service Commission and the Sheriff's Civil Service Commission have authority to adopt, publish and enforce rules regarding the selection and classification of County employees including competitive examination, promotions, seniority and tenure, layoffs and dismissals, disciplinary actions, grievance procedures, and other matters relating to the selection of County employees and procedural and substantive rights, advancement, benefits, and working conditions of County employees. They provide employees with an opportunity of fair and equitable employment opportunities, job protection, due process and an avenue of appeal.

Civil Service Commission Board Members
Gina Elliott (Chairperson), Jerry P. Gonzales, Albert Vale

View the Civil Service Commission Rules

For additional information regarding Civil Service Rules and Regulations please refer to Chapter 158 of the Texas Statutes; Chapter A for COUNTY CIVIL SERVICE and Chapter B for the SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT CIVIL SERVICE.