Probate Court History

Legacy of the Bexar County Probate Courts

The Bexar County Probate Courts have original and exclusive jurisdiction over probate matters, eminent domain, guardianship cases, and mental health commitments. Its reach encompasses thirty-two different communities across the county, from Helotes to Elmendorf. The Court was created by Chapter 25 of the Texas Government Code, which created eighteen Statutory Probate Courts in ten counties in larger metropolitan areas. Prior to the establishment of the Bexar County Probate Courts, probate matters were under the purview of the County Judge and a County Court at Law. However, as Bexar County grew, the number and diversity of these cases led to the creation of the Probate Judge position, currently filled by two elected judges.

For more information on the history of the Bexar County Probate Courts, please read "The History of the Bexar County Courthouse".

Prior Officeholders of the Bexar County Probate Courts

Probate Court No. 1:

Thomas Armour Ball

Thomas Armour Ball (1963 – 1990)

Polly Jackson Spencer

Polly Jackson Spencer (1990 – 2014)

Probate Court No. 2:

Carol Haberman

Carol Haberman (1975 – 1977)

Blair Reeves

Blair Reeves (1977 – 1982)

Keith Burris

Keith Burris (1982 – 1991)

Robert G. Lee

Robert G. Lee (1991 – 1992)

Sandee Bryan Marion

Sandee Bryan Marion (1992 – 2002)