Albert Uresti, MPA, PCC
Bexar County Tax Assessor-Collector

Lisa Anderson, PCC
Chief Deputy of Administration

Stephen W. Palacios, CPA, PCC
Chief Deputy of Operations

David DeLeon
Director, Motor Vehicle Registration Department

Carlos J. Gutierrez, PCC
Director, Property Tax Department

Pat Hatzel, PCC
Director, Financial Reporting Department

Richard Salas, Esq.
Manager, Customer and Public Information


Vista Verde Plaza Building
233 N. Pecos la Trinidad
San Antonio Texas 78207-3175
(210) 335-6628    Tax Info
(210) 335-6627    Motor Vehicle
Mon - Fri 8:00 AM - 4:45 PM
Wednesday open to 6:30 PM

3370 Nacogdoches Road #160
Salado Park II
San Antonio Texas 78217-3375
(210) 335-6627
Mon- Fri 8:00 AM - 4:45 PM
Wednesday open to 6:30 PM

8407 Bandera Road
Bandera Festival Shopping Center
San Antonio, Texas 78250-2574
(210) 335-6627
Mon- Fri 8:00 AM - 4:45 PM
Wednesday open to 6:30 PM

3505 Pleasanton Rd.
San Antonio, Texas 78221
(210) 335-6627
Mon- Fri 8:00 AM - 4:45 PM
Wednesday open to 6:30 PM

Official Mailing Address:
Albert Uresti, MPA, PCC
Tax Assessor-Collector
Bexar County
P.O. Box 839950
San Antonio, TX 78283-3950

If you have any questions or require additional information, please feel free to e-mail us at


In September of each year, the governing bodies of the local taxing units decide what services they will provide and how much money they will need. They adopt the unit budget and set the tax rate for the year that will provide the needed revenue.

Taxing units also have the authority to allow partial exemptions. These exemptions reduce the taxable value of qualifying properties. The General Residential Homestead, Over-65, and Disability Exemptions are partial exemptions which can be granted on your principal place of residence. They can only be claimed on one piece of property in the state of Texas.

Taxes are calculated by subtracting the value of any exemptions, and if applicable, the cap value from the homestead value of the property and then adding any productivity or non-qualifying value. This result, the taxable value, is then multiplied by the tax rate per $100. The answer is then divided by 100 to arrive at the tax amount for the taxing unit. This process is repeated for each taxing unit.

If a unit has a limitation of taxes for the elderly or disabled, the calculated amount is compared to the limitation amount and the tax is the lower of the two figures.

Delinquent Tax Collection Rates

The following schedule provides penalty and interest rates for use in calculating the total amount of penalty and interest due on delinquent tax bills. The rates in this schedule do not apply to taxes paid under the split or quarter payment option, or to delinquent taxes in years where a successful rollback election was held. Value or exemption changes by the appraisal district may postpone the delinquency date.

Accounts not under the split or quarter pay option will effectively become delinquent on February 1st of the following year the taxes were imposed and will increase as follows:


February 6% + 1% = 7%
March 7% + 2% = 9%
April 8% + 3% = 11%
May 9% + 4% = 13%
June 10% + 5% = 15%
July 12% + 6% = 18%

Due to a change in the statute, participating jurisdictions may elect to turn over their delinquent business property taxes to their delinquent tax attorneys for collection on April 1st of the year the taxes became delinquent, and are subject to an additional penalty of 15 or 20 percent of the taxes, penalty, and interest due. All other past due taxes are surrendered for collection on July 1st of the year the taxes became delinquent and are also subject to the additional 15 or 20 percent collection fee.

It is important to note that a late payment under the quarter payment plan incurs a penalty of 6 percent and interest at the rate of 1 percent per month until paid.